Sixth Annual Pioneer Breakfast recognizes contributions, awards scholarships


Pioneer Breakfast
The musical group Bijan & The Few performs at the sixth annual Pioneer Breakfast at CSUSB on Feb. 23. Photo: Robert A. Whitehead/CSUSB

Local community members were honored for their service and student scholarship recipients were announced by the Cal State San Bernardino Black Faculty, Staff and Student Association at the sixth annual Pioneer Breakfast on Feb. 23.

The event, which was held in the university’s Santos Manuel Student Events Center, coincides with the celebration of Black History Month.

This year’s theme is “Our Legacy Defines Our Future” and binds with the university’s vision of defining the future.

The scholarship recipients are:

Darnell Collins, Belva Holder Memorial Scholarship;

Christopher Akwaja, Dr. Milton Clark Tenacity Scholarship;

Malinda Hendrix, John Overton Memorial Scholarship;

Chloe Patterson, Dr. Mildred Henry Scholarship;

Austin Warren, Terrylin Monette Memorial Scholarship; and

Breeona Bright, Dr. Jean Peacock and Walter Hawkins Memorial Scholarship.

The 2018 Pioneer honorees are:

Denise Benton, Staff Award recipient;

Edward Harrison, Administration Award recipient;

Charlotte Black, Faculty Award recipient;

Dia Poole, Alumni Award recipient; and

Olivia Rosas, Lorraine Frost Ally Award recipient.

This year’s event distinguishes itself from past breakfasts, with a new branding, more scholarships and a change in the concept of the annual essay competition that CSUSB students compete in, said Anthony Roberson, the BFSSA Pioneer chair.

“The Pioneer Breakfast is important to have here at CSUSB to showcase our diversity and inclusiveness,” said Roberson. “This event bridges our CSUSB community with our local service communities and brings back our alumni.”

The Pioneer Breakfast serves as a fundraiser for scholarships and also supports the annual African American Graduation recognition ceremony.

Visit the CSUSB BFSSA website to learn more.

For more information on Cal State San Bernardino, contact the university’s Office of Strategic Communication at (909) 537-5007 and visit

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: