Over $700,000 Awarded to the Cities of Colton and Fontana from the 2018-2019 Proposition 56 Tobacco Grant Program

Sacramento – Last month, Attorney General Xavier Becerra announced the recipients of Prop 56 grants to reduce illegal sales of tobacco which included $798,795 for the Cities of Colton and Fontana in the 47th Assembly District.  The Department of Justice’s Tobacco Grant funds will support programs to reduce illegal tobacco sales, particularly to minors. This announcement comes after Assemblymember Eloise Reyes (D-San Bernardino) sent a letter of support for the cities’ grant application to the California Department of Justice.

“I am so pleased that our cities are taking advantage of the resources available through the State of California,” said Assemblymember Reyes. “I continue to stay committed to doing my part in helping our community gain access to these funds.”

The Department of Justice’s Tobacco Grant Program is funded by Proposition 56, the California Healthcare, Research and Prevention Tobacco Tax Act of 2016. Proposition 56 raised the cigarette tax by $2.00 per pack, with an equivalent increase on other tobacco products. Funded activities include retailer training programs, decoy operations, youth outreach and prevention programs, tobacco retail license inspections, training for sworn peace officers, the installation of vapor and smoke detectors, and more.

The Colton Police Department will hire a school resource officer to educate, promote and deter students from using tobacco products. In addition, the police department will also install signage and vape detectors in schools and conduct decoy stings at retail establishments. The Fontana Police Department will identify and target problematic retailers, conduct enforcement and post-enforcement operations, conduct officer and retailer education classes and conduct intensive youth outreach.

Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes represents Assembly District 47 which includes the cities of Fontana, Rialto, Colton, Grand Terrace, San Bernardino and the unincorporated areas of Muscoy and Bloomington.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: